SCARE for a CURE Blog

Saturday, June 13, 2009

SCARE For A Cure Announces 2009 College Scholarship Winners

SCARE For A Cure Scholarship Recipients with Jarrett and Norma CrippenAustin, TX – June 12, 2009 Scare for a Cure present awards to its 2009 scholarship recipients in an award presentation ceremony at the Elks Lodge in Austin on June 13. Each local college-bound student has earned a $2,500 scholarship, funded by proceeds from the SCARE 2008: World of Horrorcraft. The winners are: Devin Garnman, Crockett High School, Alec Gramann, LBJ High School; and Sarah Mason, Anderson High School, from Austin ISD; and Lisa LeBourgeois, Round Rock High School, Round Rock ISD.

SCARE For A Cure, a non-profit organization, creates an interactive haunted house and donates the proceeds to local cancer related charities. 2008 was a record-breaker, raising $10,000 in scholarship funds and logging over 8,000 volunteer hours from more than 200 volunteers. Our crew included teams from Sony and Office Max, teams of AmeriCorps volunteers, and students from Austin Sunshine Camps and Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired/Criss Cole Rehabilitation Center.

SCARE For A Cure Scholarship Recipients (L-R): Devan Gartman, Lisa LeBourgeois, Alec Gramann, and Sarah Mason